On My Knees

Image result for lonely man praying in a small room

All upon my room the rain drops all around

The damp cold coming down

Hearing that gentle sound

Christmas is gone and I’m outbound,

The wind whispers outside my window

God I wish for a fireplace’s glow

Beyond this moment so much to know

Recovering from life’s blow after blow,

How long can any of us survive the pain?

Lost love, betrayal, all that is insane

Evil one’s who never wonder over their ill-gotten gains,

What goodness in my heart remains?

Image result for lonely man praying in a small room

The seeds of revenge that upon I cannot rely

Forbidden voices forsake the skies

Here am I in my disguise

Too solemn to even philosophize,

Image result for lonely man praying in a small room

Lonely nights that whisper until dawn

And this shadowy existence goes on and on

Awaiting the encounter with a black swan

As if all reasonable hope is gone,

Image result for rain speaking

Then the rain speaks again from outside

As I sit misty eyed

I heard the voice of Christmas past as it sighed

John, who sang “And so this is Christmas Christmas,” died,

In the midst of winter now where some souls freeze

On the streets I hear a distant sneeze

So few who aim to please

Lord, you have me on my knees.

Image result for man on his knees praying to god

Leave a comment